Committee on Political Education (COPE)

Every year, the affiliated union organizations that comprise the New Jersey State AFL-CIO vote on which election candidates to endorse based on voting records and working family issues. The New Jersey labor movement has a proud history of supporting candidates who support working families. Working in partnership with the New Jersey State AFL-CIO’s political department, the state’s central labor councils and affiliated local unions, the Committee on Political Education (COPE) makes every effort to educate union members and their families about these endorsements and why they were made.

2022 Endorsed Congressional Candidates Victories


*Donald Norcross (D-01)
District 1 
*Josh Gottheimer (D-05)
District 5
*Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-10)
District 10
*Jeff Van Drew (R-02)
District 2
*Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-06)
District 6
*Mikie Sherrill (D-11)
District 11
*Andy Kim (D-03)
District 3
Robert Menendez (D-08)
District 8
*Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-12)
District 12
*Chris Smith (R-04)
District 4
*Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-09)
District 9

Back to Top of Page

Endorsed Labor Candidate Victories


Arranged by Union Affiliation:

Name  Union Office Sought
Vince Sera* AFSCME 1210 Brigantine Mayor
Crystal Feliciano AFSCME 2286 Trenton Council
Tony DePrince* AFT 4907 Magnolia Council
Cynthia Simon AFT 2222/1796 Wayne Board of Education
John F. Capo*  BAC 4  Totowa Council
Nikki Roberts-Apeadu CWA 1033 Delran Ward 1 Council
Mark Kruszczynski CWA 1036  North Plainfield Board of Education
Cathleen Lewis CWA 1037 Mercer County Commissioner
Karol Ruiz CWA 1037 Dover Alderman
Tassie York* CWA 1037 Neptune Committee
Lori Faye CWA 1038 Lumberton Committee
Joseph Hiles* CWA 1085 Woodstown Council
Carlye Lamarca CWA 1038 Burlington Twp Board of Education
Thomas Sullivan, Jr.*  IBEW 164 Bergen County Commissioner
Bert Steinmann* IBEW 269 Ewing Mayor
Ryan Doran* IBEW 351 Cherry Hill Fire Commissioner
Donald Norcross* IBEW 351 CD 1 U.S. House of Representatives
Mike Vizzard* IBEW 351 Commercial Township Committee
Kyle Miller IBEW 351 Woodbury Mayor
Kevin Egan* IBEW 456 New Brunswick City Council
Michael Riordan* IBEW 827 Brigantine Council
Thomas Lyon* IBT 676 Delran Council
Pat Lepore* IBT 802 Passaic County Commissioner
Donald Heverly Ironworkers 399 Williamstown Council
Walt Lenkowski Ironworkers 399 Lindenwald Council
Michael McGlynn* IUOE 68 Fairfield Council
Nick Civitan* IUOE 825 Frankford Council
Ed Kalinowski IUOE 825 Deptford Board of Education
Rob Lane, Jr.* IUPAT 694 Neptune Committee
David Bander* SEIU 1199NJ Plainsboro Committee
Roshan White* UA 24 Scotch Plains Council
Concetto Formica UBC 253 Franklin Boro Council
Kevin Goodsir UBC 253 West Milford Council
Ron Skirkanish UBC 254 Manville Council
Dane Lamcken* UBC 255 Estell Manor Council
Michael Porretta* UBC 255 Folsom Council
Andrew Bulakowski UBC 255 Cape May Commissioner
Matthew Cox* UBC 441 Dennis Township Committee
Nereyda Curiel* UFCW 360 Haledon Council


Our Labor Values

All workers have the right to form and join unions.

Collective Bargaining is a public good.

All workers should have the right to collectively bargain for their terms and conditions of employment.

All workers have the right to a safe and healthy work environment.

All employers have a duty to provide a safe workplace.

All workers should be paid a fair or “living” wage.

Our Labor Candidates have pledged to uphold all of these values.


Back to Top of Page

Voting by Mail & Ballot Drop Boxes:

Return Your Ballot by 8:00 PM on Tuesday, November 8

Place your voted ballot in a ballot drop box by 8:00pm

A voter can only return their own ballot


Click here to find a ballot drop box near you


If you return your ballot by mail, it must be postmarked by 8:00pm on Tuesday, November 8


Vote-by-Mail FAQ


Ballot Drop Box Locations:

A ballot drop box is a secure, locked structure operated by election officials where voters may deliver their ballots from the time they receive them in the mail up to the time polls close at 8 pm on Election Day. There will be at least 10 drop boxes located throughout each county, which will be available 24 hours a day. Drop boxes will be under surveillance by security cameras and collected daily by county election officials. To find the location of your nearest ballot drop box click the button below


Ballot drop boxes




Back to top of page